Should You Wait to Tell Her How You Feel? Here’s What Popular Songs Say


So you like that girl… But you’re not sure she likes you back. Do you even have a chance? Maybe you should just wait and see?

Well, here’s what several popular songs have to say about that decision…

Michael Learns to Rock – 25 Minutes

I find her standing in front of the church
The only place in town where I didn’t search
She looks so happy in her wedding dress
But she’s crying while she’s saying this

Boy I missed your kisses all the time but this is
Twenty five minutes too late
Though you travelled so far boy I’m sorry you are
Twenty five minutes too late

Smokie – Living Next Door to Alice

Oh, I don’t know why she’s leaving,
Or where she’s gonna go,
I guess she’s got her reasons,
But I just don’t want to know,
‘Cos for twenty-four years
I’ve been living next door to Alice.
Twenty-four years just waiting for a chance,
To tell her how I feel, and maybe get a second glance,
Now I’ve got to get used to not living next door to Alice

Michael Buble – You Don’t Know Me

I never knew
The art of making love
Though my heart aches
With love for you
Afraid and shy
I’ve let my chance to go by
The chance that you might
Love me, too

You give your hand to me
And then you say good-bye
I watch you walk away
Beside the lucky guy
You’ll never never know
The one who loves you so
Well, you don’t know me

Thanks to Chick for that last one.

And a case in point from Learn From My Fail:

Never, ever put off asking a girl out for two years. When you finally do, you will learn that she used to like you but moved on. You won’t be able to do the same.

Conclusion: There are tons of songs about how the guy was just a bit too late to let his feelings for the girl be known. By contrast, I can’t think of any songs lamenting the fact that he told her just a bit too soon. So be bold, tell her how you feel about her before it’s too late!

After all, it’s the man’s responsibility to bear the (potential) rejection and heartbreak.

PS. This principle kinda applies to family too:

Mike & The Mechanics – The Living Years

I wasn’t there that morning
When my Father passed away
I didn’t get to tell him
All the things I had to say

I think I caught his spirit
Later that same year
I’m sure I heard his echo
In my baby’s new born tears
I just wish I could have told him in the living years

Say it loud, say it clear
You can listen as well as you hear
It’s too late when we die
To admit we don’t see eye to eye

Videos below the fold:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

