Things That Are Highly Unlikely (Atheism vs Christianity) – Me on Twitter


Been tweeting these lately:

————–

#Unlikelythings Drug addict reforming his ways cos no evidence of loving God #atheism vs #Christianity

#Unlikelythings Convict stricken with remorse thx to discovering secular humanism #atheism vs #Christianity

#Unlikelythings Suicidal person finds new meaning in life after reading Richard Dawkins #atheism vs #Christianity

#Unlikelythings Ppl give up comfortable life, serve charity due to rationalism and rejection of the supernatural #atheism vs #Christianity

#Unlikelythings Prisoners of war forgive brutal oppressors because of NeoDarwinism #atheism vs #Christianity

#Unlikelythings Ppl sharing and declaring how much *ERROR, DOES NOT EXIST* loves you #atheism vs #Christianity

#Unlikelythings Charities and humanitarian movements named after much-loved parables of atheist thought #atheism vs #Christianity

————–

Inspired by these snarkily-titled posts in the same gist as follow:

Constrasted against

————————

(I’ll preemptively add: Come and get it, Ron!)

See also What Door to Door Evangelists for Atheism Would Really Be Like.

11 Responses to “Things That Are Highly Unlikely (Atheism vs Christianity) – Me on Twitter”

  1. rapn21 Says:

    #UnlikeThings Gay people bullied because Dawkins say it was an abomination

    #UnlikelyThings Women treated as second class citizens due to rational thought

    #UnlikelyThings People in Belfast spend hundreds of years killing each other because they believe in different scientific theories

    #UnlikelyThings A person reads Hitchens and feels guilty for the rest of the life (especially when doing enjoyable things)

    #UnlikelyThings Leading atheists caught molesting children

    #UnlikelyThings Dawkins demands all atheists must give him a portion of the income or they will suffer for eternity

  2. Scott Thong Says:

    #UnlikeThings Gay people bullied because Dawkins say it was an abomination

    #UnlikelyThings Straight people making out in front of families and flinging used condoms around to make some sort of point

    #UnlikelyThings Women treated as second class citizens due to rational thought

    #UnlikelyThings Women aborted in vitro in grossly disproportionate numbers compared to men due to those nutso Bible thumping pro lifers, nutso thumpers I say

    #UnlikelyThings People in Belfast spend hundreds of years killing each other because they believe in different scientific theories

    #UnlikelyThings Communists who just happen to be, totally coincidentally, no causation at all swearsies staunch, rabid Christians (and also violently persecuting of atheists) starve millions to death because of their belief in whoops-it-turned-out-wrong-in-hindsight economic, social and yes, scientific theories

    #UnlikelyThings A person reads Hitchens and feels guilty for the rest of the life (especially when doing enjoyable things)

    #UnlikelyThings A person reads Hitchens and doesn’t laugh or at least raise an eyebrow wryly (I like his writing, so sue me)

    #UnlikelyThings Leading atheists caught molesting children

    #UnlikelyThings Religious people taking their toddler boys out to the Folsom Street Fair where adults engage in sexual acts in public, all of them dressed in revealing leather chaps… And getting praised for their progressiveness by other religious folk and conservatives in general

    #UnlikelyThings Dawkins demands all atheists must give him a portion of the income or they will suffer for eternity

    #UnlikelyThings Atheists know the Bible better than many casual, nominal Christians due to researching it for polemics, and then accurately cite it even if it means a missed opportunity for cheap trolltastic polemics

  3. Robert Nielsen Says:

    Your points rage from the absurd to the offensive so i’ll take them one at a time.

    1. Straight people actually do make out in public and nobody cares. Whats wrong with “families” seeing gay people. I’ve never seen or heard of gay people flinging used condoms, to me all they seem to want is to be treated equally. By the way my point is that the bible thinks homosexuality is an abomination and all gays should be put to death (Leviticus 20:13)

    2. You ignored my point that the bible commands women to be second class citizens (http://robertnielsen21.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/terrible-parts-of-the-bible-2-sexism/) That does not happen in Western countries, though I have heard stories of it happening in China, but its a separate matter.

    3. Again you ignored my point (maybe because you cant answer it). Millions starved because collectivization is a terrible policy. Its economics. Just as many would have starved regardless of what religion the leaders were. Even if Jesus himself tried to implement collectivization the same number would have died.

    4. My point is that the Church makes you feel guilty about pretty much everything enjoyable. Basically if its pleasurable its sinful. Example sex, drink, gambling, TV etc

    5. I don’t know what the hell you are talking about here.

    6. Again you ignore my point that most Churches are obscenely rich. Yes most atheists do know a lot about the Bible (I only really studied it when I lost my faith). On my blog I discuss the sexism, homophobia and justifications for genocide in the Bible. I extensively quote the Bible. If I misquoted or took something out of context, please correct me.

    http://robertnielsen21.wordpress.com/

  4. Scott Thong Says:

    Your points rage from the absurd to the offensive so i’ll take them one at a time.

    With the assumption that your accusation above is completely true, what can I say but WELCOME TO TEH INTERNETS

    Remember to check your horrified outrage at the door.

    By the way my point is that the bible thinks homosexuality is an abomination and all gays should be put to death (Leviticus 20:13)

    Correct as far as the Old Testament and Jewish/Mosaic law is concerned. Less accurate as far as the New Testament and Christianity is concerned. As far actually carrying out OT law, that’s somewhat more nuanced:

    You are forbidden to kill him yourself. The death penalty may only be administered by a court of 23 ordained rabbis (see tractate Sanhedrin). Since there are no genuinely ordained rabbis (and won’t be until Elijah returns), no competent court can be convened.

    And to clarify, I do merely hold the position that Christianity does not condone homosexuality. I do not extend this preclusion to nonChristians or the public policy realm.

    You ignored my point that the bible commands women to be second class citizens

    I never said I would directly rebutt or respond to every one of your points. It’s not like you did it for every one of my tweets either. What we both did was to snark back and forth, which is also more fun. YAY INTERNETS!

    That said, I could head over to your post and try and rebutt it point by point – if I felt like it. (At this moment, I don’t feel like it – I intend to respond to your comments here, check out AoSHQ, and maybe some memebase sites.)

    And I could argue about how although Biblical precepts do not match the modern day sensibilities of liberal humanism, they do take into account and operate on the presumption that each gender is created with its own strengths, weaknesses and nuances – they are meant to operate as a team, complementary to one another (another reason why homosexual pairings are frowned upon). In addition, there are certain spiritual reflections that are presumed.

    I wouldn’t expect you to understand or accept this line of thinking. I’m only putting it out as a clarification.
    But srsly, you tell me with a straight face that from a naturalist, scientific point of view – all supernaturalism and suprstitious theology aside – millions of years of evolution have led to men and women being completely similar, equal and interchangeable to the point that there is no discernible disadvantage to having two fathers.

    Again you ignored my point (maybe because you cant answer it). Millions starved because collectivization is a terrible policy. Its economics. Just as many would have starved regardless of what religion the leaders were. Even if Jesus himself tried to implement collectivization the same number would have died.

    I can answer it, and the answer is yes – religious differences did lead to violence. I’m not going to deny it. However I raise the ‘No True Scotsman Christian’ defense, which I’m sure you’re familiar with.

    If Jesus didn’t resort to miracles and tried to implement collectivization, millions would have starved – but the point is, would the various atrocities and plain old dehumanization under the Communist regimes have been allowed to occur – and without a shred of guilt no less! – without the prior removal of such outdated, backwards, illiberal religious prohibitions as THOU SHALL NOT MURDER and LOVE THY NEIGHBOR and CREATED IN THE IMAGE OF GOD?

    My point is that the Church makes you feel guilty about pretty much everything enjoyable. Basically if its pleasurable its sinful. Example sex, drink, gambling, TV etc

    The way you say it makes it sound like a teenager rebelling against his parents – as if all these ‘fun’ things had no negative consequences whatsoever.

    Then again, that has been the Liberal position for decades – and look where it’s gotten us now! Let’s keep on promoting free sex along with the STDs, abortions, single mother families and the resulting disproportionate crime rates among their children, HIV rates among gay men 60 times higher than the norm

    I mean, can’t argue with such excellent results! Those religionutters put all those support columns in the building over 6000 years for no good reason, let’s just tear ’em all down – WHAT COULD POSSIBLY HAPPEN! /sarc

    But srsly, the actual NT stand basically boils down to this: You wanna do whatever you like, fine, go ahead since you so SMRT – just don’t try and change the Club Rules to accomodate you, and don’t complain when bad things inherently happen as a result of doing those things.

    I don’t know what the hell you are talking about here.

    Feast your eyes. And then, bleach your eyes. And brain. Also, any personal items that may have come into contact with the flying bodily fluids of other individuals – just to be on the safe side.

    Again you ignore my point that most Churches are obscenely rich. Yes most atheists do know a lot about the Bible (I only really studied it when I lost my faith). On my blog I discuss the sexism, homophobia and justifications for genocide in the Bible. I extensively quote the Bible. If I misquoted or took something out of context, please correct me.

    Clarification: Most Western, First World churches. And even then I’d have to study the statistics – surely there are countless small, local, rural and shoplot churches in operation that are off the casual bystander’s radar.

    Your invitation to debate on your blog is tempting, but I will have to decline for now (see earlier for reasons why). I might take it up at some later date, even though I accept as a foregone conclusion that whatever I say – no matter how convincing it seems to me – is unlikely to change your mind.

    But just offhand, here’s one general responses I’ve honed over the years in my blog comment flame wars:

    How are God directly wiping out the Canaanites with, say, a meteorite fundamentally different from God commanding ‘genocide’ at the hands of the Israelites? Would anyone complain if God had said in Exodus, “Behold, I give you the land of Canaan – nicely vacated of its former inhabitants by the Angel of Death on retainer from the last plague on Egypt”? For context, does anyone often complain about God drowning almost all life in the Flood? (From my experience, no, they usually just critique the scientific aspects of the Flood narrative.)

  5. Robert Nielsen Says:

    There comes a point in every internet debate where the comments begin to resemble essays and both side talk past each other while everyone else loses interest. I think we have reached that point, so I’ll keep it brief and try to rap it up.

    While homosexuals may not actually be put to death, its the thought that counts. Also some deranged lunatic may think the Bible is commanding him to kill gays and actually do it.

    No women are not completely identical to men (just as no 2 people are) but they practically are. Also the Bible doesn’t make the argument, it says women should be submissive. (1st Timothy 2:11-5, 1st Corinthians 14:34-5 etc)

    Obviously drink or sex taken to extreme is bad (like anything taken to extreme). But I think religion goes to the opposite extreme with either a total ban or imposing huge guilt upon people who do it. (I am writing this from Catholic Ireland, so I dont know if other Christian churches are like this or whether its uniquely Catholic) (This also refers to the church being rich point, the Catholic Church is one of the richest organisations in the world. I presume other churches (by which I mean denominations of Christianity) are in a similar position)

    I actually agree with your final point. I think the flood is far worse than the treatment of the Caanites (and I do complain about it on my blog http://robertnielsen21.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/terrible-parts-of-the-bible-part-1-genocide/). However I think its so ridiculous it cant possibly of happened (that many animals on a boat for a whole year?!?!) so not many take it seriously. However the massacre/genocide of the Caanites could have happened which is probably why a bigger deal is made of it.

  6. Scott Thong Says:

    On being set in our respective ways – I agree partially. I’ve noted before that the same data will be intrepeted differently by different groups. For example, the latest revelation concerning faulty or manipulated climate data will be taken by skeptics as yet more proof that anthropogenic global warming is a shoddy scam, while simultaneously dismissed by believers as innocent flukes.

    But I am not myself monolithic… Good enough arguments by commentors on this blog have, in the past, made me change my stance on evolution and absolute morality for example.

    On homosexuals – While I’ve seen some deranged loons use the Bible to justify their murderous acts (e.g. Anders Breivik who IMHO is completely sane and rational, just horribly sociopathic), I am not aware of any regarding homosexuality.

    As I’ve noted before, accepting homosexuality is not Christian – but neither is harassing homosexuals like the Westboro loons.

    On women – Here’s the thing, you see women being submissive to men as a bad thing. I don’t, at least when it’s submission within reason.

    But here’s the thing – by nature women in general look up to strong alpha males who take charge, take responsibility, protect them, nurture the family, are not wimps or indecisive. Call it thousands of years of sexist/chauvanist social indoctrination if you want, but modern First World women still buy those romance novels where a male with a strong personality sweeps the lady off her feet.

    Even in nature we see our close cousins the primates following a male-dominant social structure, where the males are the leaders – but also the protectors and first to charge into suicidal faceoffs with intruders.

    Heck, I suppose the entire ‘both men and women should submit to God’ thing is disagreeable to you. Which I would totally expect, considering your worldview.

    On the Roman Catholic Church – Well if you’re using them as the example of Christianity in general that explains things a bit. Though I’m pretty sure Catholics drink communion wine (hence the ‘pass around more of the blood of Jesus’ drunken priest jokes).

    Christians are allowed to have sexual fun – in fact, this is implied in Genesis 2:24-25 – just that it must be kept within a marriage. This also forms part of the no-homosexuality thing, as nowhere in the Bible (and most of recorded history of the majority of human cultures) does marriage between two individuals of the same gender exist. Hence any homosexual contact constitutes sexual immorality outside of marriage.

    And yes, the RCC is probably the largest and richest religious organization in the world. But they also spend a large portion of the collection on charity work, to the point that Protestant denominations are sometimes chided for focusing on the word while bellies are empty (in contrast to the Catholics whom Protestants believe neglect the word). Not that Protestants and Evangelicals are slackers either when it comes to charity.

    On the Flood – Well if we’re on that track, one could also argue that it was unfair of God to even create life, the universe, existence etc. at all.

    After all, the Lord giveth and the Lord takeh away – we are all living on borrowed time.

    As for the scientific aspects of it, I don’t have a dedicated post but have had many comment discussions on it before. Basically, my stand is that the Bible doesn’t say every species, but every kind which could mean just one pair of housecats to represent all felinoids instead of bringing tigers, lions, lynxes etc etc etc on board. The housecats could have evolved into all the related genii and species after the Flood.

    Just throwing my ideas around above.

  7. Ron Says:

    Putting 1st Peter 3:15 Into Practice

    17 May 2011

    I’ve actually been mulling this for some time, and again in the past day or so…. Recent events have served to help me finally make the decision to take this step.

    I’m referring to blogging and commenting with gentleness and respect. At the very least, I’ll stop the snarking and mockery aimed at irreligiousity for a start.

    […]

    And of course, I thank my Lord Jesus Christ for helping me go through with this decision. May He give me the discipline and will to see it through. Amen.

    So here’s to swallowing my pride and – finally – acting like the better Christian that I’ve known I should be.

    Old habits are hard to break, so if anyone catches me falling back into them, here’s my explicit permission to call me out on it.

    I’ll still be defending my beliefs in the meantime, of course – just that I’ll try not to fall into outright mockery and insult mode, beginning with non-religious atheism and hopefully growing from there. ~Scott Thong

    Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

    We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. 2 Corinthians 5:17,20

    But that is not the way you learned Christ!—assuming that you have heard about him and were taught in him, as the truth is in Jesus, to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness. Ephesians 4:20-24

    He who loves a quarrel loves sin. Proverbs 17:19

  8. Scott Thong Says:

    Forgive me Lord for I have sinned.

  9. Scott Thong Says:

    No, really, I know it’s not the best thing to do, but I still am so drawn to do it.

    I’m a bad example. You should probably find some nice, turn the other cheek guy who will take your shots meekly – I’m sure the total lack of response to your barbs will be more fun.

  10. Ron Says:

    No, really, I know it’s not the best thing to do, but I still am so drawn to do it.

    “Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
    Look full in His wonderful face,
    And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
    In the light of His glory and grace.”
    ~Helen H. Lemmel

    Since you like stats, here’s something to ponder:

    Count up the total number of posts on your blog.

    Next, count up the number of posts devoted to denigrating
    others (political, religious, or otherwise).

    Then count up the number of posts related to glorifying Jesus and/or inspiring others to continue in their walk with Christ.

    What are your final results??

    I’m a bad example. You should probably find some nice, turn the other cheek guy who will take your shots meekly – I’m sure the total lack of response to your barbs will be more fun.

    “Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.” ~Paul (2 Corinthians 12:7)😉

    And hey, even Jesus was tempted by Satan.

    {Disclaimer: The opinions expressed herein are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of any demons, evil spirits, or the Prince of Darkness.}

  11. Scott Thong Says:

    You’re right. I make promises sincerely, but I don’t always keep them.

    I’ll lay off the atheist-mocking, again.

Leave a Reply

