#BaalGate in the Original Words


Warren McGrew: ‘Well you know, if I’m elect and my children aren’t, you know, that’s okay.’ And I just wanted to highlight how that’s the same kind of spirit and mindset that the ancient worshippers of pagan deities would engage in, when they would sacrifice their children to Baal. Because as long as I get my good crops, I’m willing to throw my child on the pyre. As long as I am being blessed financially, I’m willing to throw my child on the pyre. It’s the same mindset where they’re like well, God may have eternally reprobated my child, but as long as I get into heaven I’m cool with that.

The phrase ‘That’s okay’ can be construed as ‘I don’t care’ but can also just mean ‘accepted’. Similarly, ‘cool with that’ can be taken to mean acceptance, no objection, or possibly agreeing in positive manner such as being happy about it. Warren in follow-ups makes it clear that he does not mean the child-sacrificers are happy about what they do, as the loss of a precious child is a grievous but (to their minds) neccessary loss. Hence the intent is that those who (begrudgingly or not) accept Infant Damnation accept the doom of a child as part of their system’s idea of God’s sovereign right to throw anyone He pleases into hell.

Following this off the cuff quip during a multi-hour stream, a portion was clipped and innocuously posted by Great Light Studios:

Various Calvinists including one James White took umbrage that McGrew was allegedly accusing all Calvinists of being happy to transactionally exchange the eternal fate of their babies in order to secure theirs, calling him a liar and questioning his own salvation. This led to several explanations & responses back and forth, each side not backing down, exacerbated by the fact that commentors jumping on board the wagon often don’t go to the firsthand sources but merely rely on what someone else said about who said what. (To avoid this, link appended in comments here.)

The hashtagged videos are out there on YouTube for the discerning listener to make their own sober judgment.

Tags:

Leave a comment